2020 Co-Lin HEADWAE Honorees

March 2, 2020

Co-Lin Science Instructor Angela Smith of Jayess (right) and student Joseph Bryden Herring of Meadville were selected as Copiah-Lincoln Community College’s HEADWAE (Higher Education Appreciation Day – Working for Academic Excellence) honorees for 2019-2020. They were honored along with several other outstanding faculty members and students from 36 Mississippi public and private universities and colleges by HEADWAE in part for their individual and academic achievements as an educational instructor and student. 

The awards program was held at the State Capitol and the recipients were recognized in each chamber of the Legislature. The goal of the Appreciation Day is to encourage excellence among those involved in higher education as a way to further leadership, increase knowledge and promote good citizens for today and the future. HEADWAE was established in 1988 by legislative resolution to honor individual academic achievement and the overall contribution of the state’s public and private institutions of higher learning.