Co-Lin students receive scholarships to Ole Miss

Eight Copiah-Lincoln Community College sophomores have received over $200,000 scholarships to the University of Mississippi.

Five students have received 15 of the prestigious Lyceum Scholar Awards. Receiving Lyceum Scholar Awards are Caroline Coleman of Meadville, Rustin Combs of Roxie, Daisey Martinez and Laura Speights, both of Wesson; and Erin Whittington of Hazlehurst. They will receive full tuition for two years ($6,996 for the 2014-2015 year).

These students were selected out of the over 270 community college applicants. Criteria for the award included community college transfer students with at least a 3.0 transfer grade point average on at least 48 transferable credit hours and an exemplary record of leadership and service.

“This is without a doubt our most prestigious award for transfer students as it is extremely competitive,” said Jason McCormick, University of Mississippi Regional Admissions Counselor.

In addition to receiving the Lyceum award Coleman, Combs, Martinez, Speights and Whittington have also been invited to take part in the Chancellor’s Leadership Class; which they will receive an additional $1,000 for their first year at Ole Miss.  The course will consist of guest speakers, group discussions, leadership activities, and exercises focused on social responsibility and civic duty, critical thinking, self-awareness, and the role of leadership at the University of Mississippi and beyond. 

Three students receiving Community College Leadership Scholarships are Taylor Beasley of Wesson, Ashley Mezzanares, and Dana Sartin, both of Brookhaven. They will receive $5,000 ($2,500 per year for two years) in scholarships. Criteria to receive the scholarship includes a 3.0 transfer GPA on at least 48 transferable community college credit hours and an exemplary record of leadership and service.

“This is also one of our competitive scholarships with only 30 out of the 270 people that applied receiving these awards,” McCormick said.  

In addition to their awards all students who were members of Phi Theta Kappa and have above a 3.5 GPA will receive an additional $6,000 a year for two years ($4,000 for the Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship and $2,000 for the Community College Academic Excellence award).

“This group alone will receive over $200,000 to finish their Bachelor’s Degree at The University of Mississippi,” McCormick added.I am extremely proud of these students and cannot wait to have them on campus this fall."

BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | phone numbers | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment (read more)
San Diego Web Design by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo