NLCC Advisory Board

Members hail from coast to coast

About 50 people from across the country make up the Advisory Board of the Natchez Literary and Cinema Celebration.

“They bring a wealth of expertise and advice to the board,” said Jim Barnett, NLCC Co-chairman, representing Mississippi Department of Archives and History.

Barnett, Director of Historic Properties for the MDAH, is one of two NLCC co-chairmen. The other co-chairman is Carolyn Vance Smith, former Public Relations Director and English instructor at Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez. Serving as advisor is Kathleen Jenkins, Superintendent of the Natchez National Historical Park.

Smith and Co-Lin founded the Celebration in 1990.

The co-chairmen form the NLCC Steering Committee and serve as leaders of the Advisory Board, which was established in 2000.

"We are delighted to have the support and energy of the Advisory Board members," Barnett said. "The Board provides suggestions for programming, speakers, fund-raising, publicity and promotion."


Members of the Advisory Board are: 

Ronnie Agnew, Executive Director, Mississippi Public Broadcasting, Jackson, Miss. 

Joyce Arceneaux-Mathis, Mayor Pro Tempore, City of Natchez, Miss. 

John Bergeron, Bergeron & Plauche, Natchez, Miss. 

Valerie Bergeron, Owner and Innkeeper, Pleasant Hill Bed-and-Breakfast, Natchez, Miss. 

Jean Biglane, Cathedral High School, Natchez, Miss. 

Emma Blissett, Former NLCC Co-chairman and Instructor of English, Copiah-Lincoln Community 

College, Wesson, Miss. 

Katie Blount, Director, Mississippi Department of Archives and History, Jackson

Henri Bollinger, Henri Bollinger Associates, Sherman Oaks, Calif. 

Maria Bowser, retired California college administrator, Natchez, Miss. 

Betsy Bradley, Director, Mississippi Museum of Art, Jackson, Miss. 

David C. Bramlette, U.S. District Court Judge, Natchez, Miss. 

Teresa Busby, Vice President, Copiah-Lincoln Community College, Natchez, Miss. 

Susan Cassagne, Executive Director, Mississippi Library Commission, Jackson, Miss. 

Jennifer Ogden Combs, Film Producer, Natchez, Miss. 

Kevin Cooper, Publisher, The Natchez Democrat, Natchez, Miss. 

Gwen Deakle, Member, Board of Directors, Gordonstoun School American Foundation, Natchez, 


Ward Emling, Manager, Mississippi Film Office, Mississippi Department of Economic and 

Community Development, Jackson, Miss. 

John Evans, Owner, Lemuria Books, Jackson, Miss. 

Roderick Givens, Oncologist, Caring River Cancer Center, Natchez, Miss. 

Darryl Grennell, Member, Adams County Board of Supervisors, Natchez, Miss., and Assistant 

Professor, Alcorn State University, Alcorn State, Miss. 

John D. W. Guice, Professor of History Emeritus, University of Southern Mississippi, 

Hattiesburg, Miss. 

Valencia Hall, Member, Board of Trustees, Mississippi Department of Archives and History, Natchez, 


Alferdteen Harrison, former Director, Margaret Walker Alexander Research Center, Jackson State 

University, Jackson, Miss. 

Sam Haskell, formerly with The William Morris Agency, Beverly Hills, Calif., and now of Encino, Calif. 

and Oxford, Miss. 

Les Hegwood, Head of School, Trinity Episcopal Day School, Natchez, Miss. 

Emily Smith Henderson, Civic Activist, Indianapolis, Ind. 

Frederick Hill, Superintendent, Natchez-Adams School District, Natchez, Miss. 

Suzanne Hirsch, Executive Director of the Mississippi School of the Arts, Brookhaven, Miss. 

Greg Iles, Author, Natchez, Miss. 

David King, Headmaster, Adams County Christian School, Natchez, Miss. 

Philip Kolin, Editor, Southern Quarterly, The University of Southern Mississippi, 

Hattiesburg, Miss. 

Donzell Lee, Chairman, Honors Program, Alcorn State University, Alcorn State, Miss. 

Douglas Lewis, Curator of Sculpture and Decorative Arts Emeritus, National Gallery of Art, 

Washington, D.C., now of Liberty, Miss. 

Aubrey K. Lucas, President Emeritus, University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, Miss. 

Stuart Margolin, Actor/Producer/Director, New York, N.Y. and Gap Mills, W. Va. 

Scott Dixon McDowell, Professor of Film, University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, Miss. 

Gerald McRaney, Actor, Sherman Oaks, Calif. 

JoAnne Prichard Morris, Editor, Jackson, Miss. 

Ronald “Ronnie” Nettles II, President, Copiah-Lincoln Community College, Wesson, Miss. 

Cora Norman, Director Emerita, Mississippi Humanities Council, Crossville, Tenn. 

Ted Ownby, Director, Center for the Study of Southern Culture, The University of Mississippi, Oxford, Miss. 

David Paradise, Paradise Associates, Inc., Natchez, Miss. 

Peggy Prenshaw, Professor Emerita, Millsaps College, Jackson, Miss. 

David G. Sansing, Professor of History Emeritus, The University of Mississippi, Oxford, Miss. 

Clifton L. Taulbert, Author and Lecturer, Freemount Corporation, Tulsa, Okla. 

Layne Taylor, Executive and Artistic Director, Natchez Little Theatre, Natchez, Miss. 

William Terrell, Publisher, The Bluff City Post, Natchez, Miss. 

Charles Vahlkamp, Professor of American Film Studies Emeritus, Centre College, Danville, Ky. 

Jerry W. Ward, Jr., Professor of English Emeritus, Dillard University, New Orleans, La. 

Samuel L. White, Executive Vice President and Provost, Alcorn State University, Lorman, Miss. 

Charles Reagan Wilson, Professor of History Emeritus and former Director, The Center for the Study 

of Southern Culture, The University of Mississippi, Oxford, Miss. 

Clara Smith Wimberly, Pensacola Junior College Guild, Pensacola, Fla. 

William F. Winter, President Emeritus, Board of Trustees, Mississippi Department of Archives and History, and former Governor of Mississippi, Jackson 

Charles Wright, Richard Wright Family Historian, Natchez, Miss. 

Charles Yarborough, History Instructor, Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science, Columbus, Miss.

Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment
Otter Creative Studio · Web Design & Development
twitter facebook  instagram snapchat Pinterest
MCCB-Logo great college to work for logobest for vets logotop ten logo