Select a news topic from the list below, then select a news article to read.

dieseltechnologypuckettCo-Lin freshmen diesel equipment technology students recently toured Puckett Machinery in Pearl. Those attending were from left, Co-Lin diesel instructor Steven Esch, Justin Tidwell of Oakvale, Clifton Barlow of Brookhaven, Bryce Ballas of Bogue Chitto, Dylan McManus of Hazlehurst, Demarkus Walls of Brookhaven, Jerrey Hannon of Roxie, Samuel Erin of Hazlehurst, Carl Jackson of Roxie, Marcus Minninger of Madison, Miranda Rutland of Monticello, and Alec Rollins of Jayess.

The Co-Lin Blue Wave Show Band announces the audition dates for the 2015-2016 band, Colettes, drum major and color guard. Auditions for the Colettes, Mississippi's Original Dance Team, are at 9 a.m. on Saturday, April 11 and Saturday, April 25, in Mullen Gymnasium. You can only attend ONE audition date. Auditions for the color guard are at 10 a.m. on Saturday, April 11 and Saturday, April 25, in the Band Hall. Drum major audition will be held on Saturday, April 11, at 10:30 a.m. in the Fine Arts Auditorium. You will need to have a routine prepared and be ready for an interview. For more information on Colette, color guard or drum major auditions contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 601.643.8375.

Instrumental auditions are conducted by appointment only. Contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. at 601.643.8383.

Sarah Claire Armstrong of Gallman and Caroleah Brister of Bogue Chitto, both sophomores at Copiah-Lincoln Community College have been named a 2015 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Bronze Scholars. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars, and providing nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Each Bronze Scholar receives a $1,000 scholarship and a special medallion.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society administers the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Program and recognizes Coca-Cola Community College scholars during All-State Community College Academic Team Recognition ceremonies held in 38 states. Student scholars also receive recognition locally during ceremonies held on campus and internationally for those who are able to attend Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention.

Community college presidents or their designated nominators may submit no more than two nominations per campus for this award. An independent panel of judges considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.

“We thank the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for their vote of confidence in community college students by investing in their futures,” said Dr. Rod Risley, Executive Director of Phi Theta Kappa. “Their support is especially welcome during this challenging economic climate, as more and more community college students need additional resources to help them complete their degrees.”

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said J. Mark Davis, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa and make it possible for deserving students to achieve their educational goals.”

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

Co-Lin will hold cheerleader tryiouts for the 2015-2016 squad on Friday, April 10, at 4:30 p.m. and Saturday, April 11, 8:30 a.m. at Callender Hall on the college’s Wesson Campus. Application deadline is March 31, 2015. There is a $20 tryout fee. 

Candidates must attend both sessions and be prepared to perform a cheer or chant that you have prepared. You will be taught a cheer and part of a dance on Friday, April 10, and will be asked to perform those skills as well as perform basic partner stunts and tumbling skills on Saturday, April 11. Male cheerleaders may be asked to do a cheer or part of the fight song along with basic partner stunts.

To prepare for basic skills associated with partner students, open gym is currently being held on Wednesdays from 6-8 p.m. in Callendar through April 9.

Application form and requirements can be dowloaded below. Anyone interested in trying out should or for more information contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Cheerleader Application

Cheerleader Requirements

skillsusawinnersThree Copiah-Lincoln Community College Career and Technical won awards in the annual Skills USA Competition held recently in Jackson. Winners are from left, Thomas Westrope of Wesson, Computer Numerical Control (CNC) Milling, silver medal; Ashley Bass of Sontag, Computer Numerical Control (CNC) Milling, bronze medal; and Josh Hart of Wesson, Electronics Technology, gold medal. The participating students competed in Automotive Service Technology, Architectural and Technical Drafting, Precision Machining, Precision Machining Technology (CNC Milling and CNC Turning), Electronics Technology, and HVAC. Gold medal winners are eligible to compete at the National competition in Louisville, Kentucky, this summer.


BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | phone numbers | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment (read more)
San Diego Web Design by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo