Select a news topic from the list below, then select a news article to read.

Co-Lin Board of Trustees President Eugene Bates of Church Hill (left) welcomes Natchez-Adams County Superintendent of Education Fred Butcher to the college’s Board of Trustees.  

Co-Lin Fine Arts Division Chair Janet Smith of Brookhaven recently captured second and third place awards in 3-Dimensional Art Division in the Brookhaven Regional Art Guild’s annual competition. 

Diane Weaver Blankenhorn of Madison and Dr. James M. Ewing, Jr. of Gainesville, Georgia will be honored as Alumni of the Year at Copiah-Lincoln Community College’s Homecoming on Saturday, Oct. 22 during the Alumni Association’s awards luncheon and annual meeting set to begin at 11 a.m. in the cafeteria on the college’s Wesson campus.

Blankenhorn is a 1950 graduate of Co-Lin Agricultural High School, and a 1952 graduate of the college where she was a member of Phi Theta Kappa and a head Colette. After Co-Lin, she received a bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Southern Mississippi.

Blakenhorn spent a lifetime as a volunteer in her community and in the Presbyterian Church, where she has served as an elder, church school teacher and librarian, moderator and president of both local and state-wide Presbyterian Women organizations, two-time chair of the Christian education and congregational care committees, and was a Christian education consultant for the national Presbyterian Church. She has also served on the board of directors for the Mississippi Boychoir for nine years, and served as chair for seven years. She is married to her Co-Lin sweetheart, David, and they have two sons, David G. Blankenhorn, III and wife, Raina, and J. Robert Blankenhorn and wife, Melinda, and five grandchildren.          

Ewing is a 1952 graduate of Co-Lin Agricultural High School and a 1954 graduate of the College. He grew up on the campus of Co-Lin as his father, Dr. James M. Ewing, Sr., served as president from 1932-1956. After Co-Lin, Ewing attended the University of Mississippi, where he received bachelor’s and master’s degrees, and the University of Southern Mississippi, where he received a Ph.D.

Ewing spent the early years of his career teaching high school English, followed by 30 years of teaching at the university level, serving as an English professor at Brenau University for two years, and the University of North Georgia for the last 28 years of his career.

He has been involved in numerous community organizations such as the Lions, Kiwanis and Rotary Clubs, and has been a lifetime member of the United Methodist Church. He is a founder of the Theta Epsilon Chapter of Sigma Chi Fraternity at the University of North Georgia, and was awarded the fraternity’s outstanding chapter advisor award in 1992. He was inducted into the Order of Constantine, Sigma Chi’s highest recognition of service to the fraternity. Ewing is a life member of the Alumni Association and was inducted into the Co-Lin Foundation Hall of Fame in 2007. He is married to the former Ellen Castleberry, and they have three children, David, Margaret Ellen, and Gary, and seven grandchildren.

Outstanding staff and instructors, Sports Hall of Fame members and Band and Colette honorees will also be honored at the luncheon. Tickets are $12 and may be purchased at morning registration in Rea Auditorium, the Ewing Fine Arts building, or at the cafeteria prior to the luncheon. For more information, contact the Co-Lin Alumni Office at 601.643.8498.

Co-Lin recently hosted the 83rd annual Mississippi Association of Colleges and Universities (MAC) conference in Natchez, Mississippi.  The conference, “A River of Success,” focused on college completion topics and efforts that have been initiated in Mississippi in recent years. Over 120 higher educational professionals from public and private universities and colleges across Mississippi were in attendance.

The Mississippi Association of Colleges was established in 1921 with the goal of promoting goodwill among colleges and universities; to stimulate academic and professional cooperation among the membership; to consider common problems; and to pursue those matters of common interest to the membership.  All public and private two-year and four year institutions in Mississippi are members of MAC.  

The conference was held at the Natchez Convention Center. Keynote speakers included Senior Director of State Policy Jimmy Clarke, Samuel L. Jones, and Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum Historian Rick Cleveland. A reception was held at Monmouth Historic Inn with entertainment by the Co-Lin Jazz Band. At the conclusion of the conference, Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles passed the gravel to incoming MAC President Dr. Mark E. Keenum, President of Mississippi State University. 

Co-Lin recently hosted the 2016 Lamplighters Conference on the college’s Wesson Campus. The annual conference is sponsored by the Mississippi Community College Academic Deans Association and hosted at a different community college each year. Lamplighters Conference works to recognize outstanding instructors in the MS Community College system, as each college nominates distinguished instructors to attend.

On the first day, more than 45 attendees arrived to a reception at Co-Lin featuring the Co-Lin jazz band, choir, and refreshments in Oswalt Library. Guests were later treated to dinner at Mitchell’s and “To Kill a Mockingbird” at Brookhaven Little Theater.

Conference activities for the following day were held at the Mississippi School of the Arts. After a welcome from MSA Executive Director Suzanne Hirsch and Co-Lin Vice President of Instructional Services Dr. Jane Hulon, guests enjoyed entertainment from the dance, vocal, and theatre departments at the art school. Miss Mississippi Laura Lee Lewis served as the special guest for the event. Lee dazzled conference goers with a vocal performance and spoke about the importance of her platform “Mentoring Matters.”

Lamplighters Conference concluded with an art show and a tour of MSA’s historic campus.

CUTLINE: Instructors selected to represent Co-Lin at the annual Lamplighters Conference were from left, Keith Stovall, Sociology/Psychology Instructor (Wesson Campus); Chris Brady, Art Instructor (Wesson Campus); Toby Graves, History Instructor (Simpson County Center) and Deren Konecky, English Instructor (Natchez Campus).


BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment
Website Packages by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb         pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo