Select a news topic from the list below, then select a news article to read.

Co-Lin’s Quality Enhancement Plan, The Write Path, continues with the completion of the Faculty Summer Institute 2016. This year’s participants are social science instructors Keith Stovall and Melee Berry, mathematics instructor Brad Hamilton, and science instructor Dr. Rob Channell.

CUTLINE: 2016 Faculty Summer Institute participants were from left, Keith Stovall, Brad Hamilton, Melnee Berry, and Rob Channell. 

Co-Lin Computer Science Instructor Margaret Britt of Brookhaven and student Lauren Faith Ward of Byram were selected Co-Lin's HEADWAE (Higher Education Appreciation Day – Working for Academic Excellence) honorees for the 2015-2016.

They were honored along with several other outstanding faculty members and students from 36 Mississippi public and private universities and colleges by HEADWAE in part for their individual and academic achievements as an educational instructor and student. 

On Appreciation Day, the honorees are invited to tour the State Capitol and are welcomed by the Lieutenant Governor as they are recognized in each chamber of the Legislature.  The goal of the Appreciation Day is to encourage excellence among those involved in higher education as a way to further leadership, increase knowledge and promote good citizens for today and the future. 

HEADWAE was established in 1988 by legislative resolution to honor individual academic achievement and the overall contribution of the state’s public and private institutions of higher learning. 

Britt has been a member of the faculty since 1997. A graduate of Co-Lin, she earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Business Education and English from the University of West Alabama, her Master’s degree in Business Technology from Mississippi, and Educational Specialist from Mississippi State University. She has completed additional study at Mississippi State University, Alcorn State University, Jackson State University and the University of Southern Mississippi. 

Britt was selected Co-Lin’s Outstanding Academic Instructor, Co-Lin’s Career-Technical Instructor of the Year, Howell C. Garner High Performance Award recipient, and the Ann Bradberry Award.

She is a member of the Delta Kappa Gamma Teacher Society and is a Cengage National Technology Power User.

She and her husband, Gene, are the parents of two sons, Kyle and Russ and two grandchildren, Preston and Bentley.

Ward is a biology major who plans to pursue a career in nursing. A Vice President’s List student, Ward is the daughter of Tanya Case and Robbie Ward.

CUTLINE: Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles (right) congratulates Co-Lin’s HEADWAE (Higher Education Appreciation Day – Working for Academic Excellence) honorees Margaret Britt (center) and Lauren Ward.

Humanities instructor Amy Case of Brookhaven has been selected as Co-Lin’s 2016 Humanities Instructor of the Year.

The Mississippi Humanities Council celebrates the occasion by supporting Humanities Teacher Awards to one humanities faculty member at each institution of higher learning in the state (29 total). Only the president or appropriate dean can nominate the faculty member, and the nominations must be received in September.

In recognition of this selection, Case presented a program entitled “You Can Teach Old Dogs New Tricks.” She was honored by the Mississippi Humanities Council’s at their Annual Awards Banquet.

Case, who teaches intermediate English and reading, has been a member of the Co-Lin for 13 years. A graduate of Co-Lin, she holds a Bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Southern Mississippi and a Master’s degree in Instructional Technology from the American InterContinental University.

She was selected as Co-Lin’s Outstanding Academic Instructor in 2015.

Case and her husband, Jason, are the parents of one daughter, Jaycee. They worship at Brookway Church of Christ where she teaches Sunday school.

CUTLINE: Dr. Stuart Rockhoff, Executive Director of the Mississippi Humanities Council (center) and Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles (right) congratulate Amy Case, Co-Lin’s Humanities Instructor of the Year.

Co-Lin has received the Mississippi Employer Support of the National Guard and Reserve (ESGR) “Seven Seals Award.” The Seven Seals Award is the broadest and most inclusive award given by the ESGR and is presented at the discretion of the State Chair or by ESGR senior leadership. The Seven Seals Award is in recognition of significant individual or organizational achievement, initiative, or support that promotes and supports the ESGR mission (to develop and promote supportive work environments for Service members in the Reserve Components through outreach, recognition, and educational opportunities that increase awareness of applicable laws, and resolves employment conflicts between the Service members and their employers).

Co-Lin was nominated for the award by student Jessica Rogers, whose husband, Matthew, is a member of the National Guard. She based her nomination on the service she received at Co-Lin that kept her on track with her studies, especially during a period when she was experiencing medical issues.

CUTLINE: On hand for the presentation were from left, Co-Lin’s Veteran Services Director Dr. Tim Lea, Matthew Rogers, Jessica Rogers holding their son, Matt, Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles, and James “Jack” Wallace, Colonel, U.S. Army retired and state ESGR chair.


For the third consecutive year, Co-Lin's Medical Laboratory Technology Bowl Team captured first place in the Tri State Mississippi, Louisiana, and Tennessee Student Bowl Competition. Members of the bowl team are from left, Marlee Hawkins of Brookhaven, Ashley Boyd of Ruth, Brittny Glasper of Brookhaven, team captain; Amber Blakeney of Wesson, and Lyndsey Nations of Bogue Chitto. Not pictured is Keely Carney of Mendenhall, alternate.


BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment
San Diego Web Design by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo