Select a news topic from the list below, then select a news article to read.

The Military Order of the Purple Heart has designated Co-Lin as a “Purple Heart College” for outstanding service to military veterans, service members, dependents and survivors. Veterans who themselves have received the Purple Heart – awarded to those who have been wounded in combat – were instrumental in nominating Co-Lin for the distinguished recognition because of its ongoing dedication to helping student veterans.

Official presentation of the proclamation took place during the college’s convocation. Charles Tolliver, Commander of Chapter No. 680 of the Military Order of the Purple Heart contributed to the nomination process through Co-Lin’s Veteran Services Office. Retired Air Force member Dr. Tim Lea, who directs the Veteran Services Office, said anytime the university is recognized by a veterans’ organization, it is an honor. Being recognized by the Military Order of the Purple Heart is especially significant, he said.

“Being wounded or killed in combat is the resume’ of those who have received the Purple Heart,” said Lea. “To be recognized by this group as serving veterans in an exemplary way is an honor unlike other military-related recognitions bestowed upon Co-Lin, but it also sets us apart from other community/junior colleges. The Military Order of the Purple Heart informs us that we are the only community/junior college in the state to have this distinction and everyone at all campuses are most humbly honored.”

CUTLINE: Charles Tolliver, Commander of Chapter No. 680 of the Military Order of the Purple Heart (second from left) presents Purple Heart College designation to from left, Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles, Tolliver, Natchez Campus Vice President Teresa Busby, Simpson County Center Vice President Dr. Dewayne Middleton, and Veterans Services Director Dr. Tim Lea. The designation was presented during the college’s fall faculty meetings.

Juanita Proffitt has been selected as Co-Lin’s Phi Theta Kappa 2016-2017 Faculty Scholar. Since 1996, Co-Lin’s Eta Omega Chapter has honored an instructor who shares their knowledge and themselves with students inspiring them to set high goals and to be the very best that they can be.

Proffitt has been a member of the Co-Lin faculty since 2012 and is currently serving as a music instructor and the director of the Blue Wave Show Band. She is a graduate of the University of Alabama and Mississippi State University. The recipient of numerous awards, Proffitt is a member of a variety of professional organizations including the Mississippi Bandmasters Association, Mississippi Community College Association and Mississippi Women Band Directors Association.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students by providing an opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, a fellowship for scholars and continued academic excellence.

Past recipients include Dr. Donnie Lawson, the late Dr. Phyllis Lanier, Dr. Durr Walker, Shelly Curtis, Dr. Roy Daughdrill, Carol Royals, Jane Smith, Danny Harrell, Debbie Bush, Janice Fortenberry, Tom Ross, Natalie Davis, David Higgs, Nicole Donald, Brenda Smith, Dr. Shelley Smith, Pam Reid, Dr. Stephanie Duguid, Anita Cliburn, and Eddie Britt.

CUTLINE: Juanita Proffitt (right) receives the Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa’s 2015-2016 Faculty Scholar Award from Eta Omega Chapter President Luke Williamson of Lawrence County. The award is presented annually during Co-Lin’s fall faculty meetings.

Co-Lin recently welcomed Tayla Blount as the first student into the MIBEST@Co-Lin program. Blount, a resident of the Doll’s House in Brookhaven, attained her high school equivalency certificate from Co-Lin through the Adult Basic Education program in May of 2016 and will now begin the Precision Machining Technology program this fall.

MIBEST@Co-Lin is a unique program funded by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation that allows eligible students to complete a high school equivalency diploma while earning college credit toward a technical certificate or an Associate of Applied Science degree at Co-Lin. MIBEST, Mississippi Integrated Basic Education and Skills Training, seeks to help students of all ages get their education back on track with assistance from Navigators and Team Teachers. Five Career-Technical programs are offered through the program including Automotive Technology, Business Office Technology, Diesel Equipment Technology, Heating and Air Condition Technology, and Precision Machining Technology.

Co-Lin will be enrolling more MIBEST students this year. Please contact Susie Patrick, Co-Lin’s College Navigator, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information about the program.

CUTLINE: Tayla Blount, with daughter, Peyton, (center) is presented with a check by Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles, after successfully completing her high school equivalency and enrolling in the MIBEST@Co-Lin program. Also on hand for the presentation were from left, Bo Johnson, Precision Machining Technology Program Coordinator; Stephanie Turner, Doll’s House Executive Director; Dr. Jane Hulon, Vice President of Instructional Services; and Jackie Martin, Dean of Career, Technical & Workforce Education.

Ten practical nursing students at Co-Lin's Simpson County Center received their pins in recent ceremonies. Receiving pins included first row is Sherwiana Lamb of Mt. Olive; second row from left, Haley Greer of Mendenhall, Kayla Carey of Bay Springs, Deanna Lyons of Seminary, Hortensa McCorkle of Ridgeland; third row from left, Faith Ashmore of D’Lo, Angel Cook of Mendenhall, Cheyenne Snow of Florence, Wanda Waters of Raleigh; fourth row is Shameka Shelton of Jackson.

Co-Lin will host the 83rd annual Mississippi Association of Colleges and Universities (MAC) conference on October 10 and 11, 2016 in Natchez, Mississippi.  The conference, “A River of Success,” will focus on college completion topics and efforts that have been initiated in Mississippi in recent years. Over 170 higher educational professionals from public and private universities and colleges across Mississippi will be in attendance.

The Mississippi Association of Colleges was established in 1921 with the goal of promoting goodwill among colleges and universities; to stimulate academic and professional cooperation among the membership; to consider common problems; and to pursue those matters of common interest to the membership.  All public and private two-year and four year institutions in Mississippi are members of MAC.  

At last year’s conference, Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles was elected President of the Association for 2016.

“We are honored to host the MAC conference and are excited to be hosting it in Natchez during the 300-year celebration of the city,” Nettles said. “Despite our different missions, all colleges and universities in our state have a common interest in the success of students who pursue post-secondary education.”

The conference will be held at the Natchez Convention Center. The agenda will include activities and events throughout the city of Natchez.

For additional information about the MAC conference contact Dr. Ronnie Nettles, at 601-643-8300 or go to


BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment
Website Packages by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb         pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo