Select a news topic from the list below, then select a news article to read.

Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles (right) has been honored with a Paul Harris Fellowship by the Brookhaven-Lincoln County Rotary Club. Presenting the award are Cheri Walker, Rotary Club Treasurer (left) and Jeff Knight, Rotary Club President. The Paul Harris Fellowship is named for Paul Harris, who founded Rotary with three business associates in Chicago in 1905. It is because of contributions like that of Dr. Nettles that The Rotary Foundation is able to carry out an array of programs that achieve beneficial changes in our world: improved living conditions, increased food production, better education, wider availability of treatment and rehabilitation for the sick and disabled, new channels for the flow of international understanding, and brighter hopes for peace. Dr. Nettles is the first Paul Harris Fellow for the Brookhaven-Lincoln County Rotary Club.  Brookhaven-Lincoln County club founder, Dr. Terry Puckett is also a Paul Harris Fellow. Dr. Nettles is a charter member of the Brookhaven-Lincoln County Rotary Club.

Members of the NAVAIR Transportation team recently visited Copiah-Lincoln Community College President Dr. Ronnie Nettles (center) on the college’s Wesson Campus. Visitors included from left, Paul Goldenberg, Mark Vernitti, Ron Weinberger, International Logistics Director for the Naval Air Systems Command and Florence Babcock.

Five outstanding students are the recipients of the L. Frank Pitts Scholarship awarded through the Copiah-Lincoln Community College Foundation. Recipients are seated from left, Audriana Bozeman of Bogue Chitto, Taylor Nelson of Bogue Chitto, and Michael Herring of Brookhaven, and (standing center), Tristen Shivers of New Hebron and Brandon Nettles of Wesson. Also on hand for the presentation were Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles (standing left) and Co-Lin Foundation Board member Bradley Smith (standing right). A 1931 Co-Lin graduate, L. Frank Pitts of Dallas, Texas, established an endowed scholarship fund at the college with a gift of $250,000. He was an independent oil and natural gas producer for more than 60 years. Applications are accepted through the President’s Office. Scholarship recipients and donors were recently honored during the Co-Lin Foundation’s 13th annual scholarship reception held at The Thames Center on the Wesson Campus. The Co-Lin Foundation provides over $200,000 in scholarships to over 150 Co-Lin students.

Eight Copiah-Lincoln Community College sophomores have received over $200,000 scholarships to the University of Mississippi.

Five students have received 15 of the prestigious Lyceum Scholar Awards. Receiving Lyceum Scholar Awards are Caroline Coleman of Meadville, Rustin Combs of Roxie, Daisey Martinez and Laura Speights, both of Wesson; and Erin Whittington of Hazlehurst. They will receive full tuition for two years ($6,996 for the 2014-2015 year).

These students were selected out of the over 270 community college applicants. Criteria for the award included community college transfer students with at least a 3.0 transfer grade point average on at least 48 transferable credit hours and an exemplary record of leadership and service.

“This is without a doubt our most prestigious award for transfer students as it is extremely competitive,” said Jason McCormick, University of Mississippi Regional Admissions Counselor.

In addition to receiving the Lyceum award Coleman, Combs, Martinez, Speights and Whittington have also been invited to take part in the Chancellor’s Leadership Class; which they will receive an additional $1,000 for their first year at Ole Miss.  The course will consist of guest speakers, group discussions, leadership activities, and exercises focused on social responsibility and civic duty, critical thinking, self-awareness, and the role of leadership at the University of Mississippi and beyond. 

Three students receiving Community College Leadership Scholarships are Taylor Beasley of Wesson, Ashley Mezzanares, and Dana Sartin, both of Brookhaven. They will receive $5,000 ($2,500 per year for two years) in scholarships. Criteria to receive the scholarship includes a 3.0 transfer GPA on at least 48 transferable community college credit hours and an exemplary record of leadership and service.

“This is also one of our competitive scholarships with only 30 out of the 270 people that applied receiving these awards,” McCormick said.  

In addition to their awards all students who were members of Phi Theta Kappa and have above a 3.5 GPA will receive an additional $6,000 a year for two years ($4,000 for the Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship and $2,000 for the Community College Academic Excellence award).

“This group alone will receive over $200,000 to finish their Bachelor’s Degree at The University of Mississippi,” McCormick added.I am extremely proud of these students and cannot wait to have them on campus this fall."

Mary Nations Smith, chairman of the board of Silver Cross Home Foundation, presents a check to David Campbell, executive director of Co-Lin Foundation, to establish an endowed scholarship to Copiah-Lincoln Community College. The scholarship is designated to benefit students enrolled in a healthcare profession from Lincoln, Lawrence, Copiah or Franklin counties. Application for the scholarship may be made through the college’s financial aid office beginning in January 2015. An endowed scholarship is established by a gift of at least $10,000 and is designed to fund a scholarship each year afterwards. Smith said Silver Cross Home Foundation was endowing the scholarship as part of an effort to give back to the community. For more information about the Co-Lin Foundation call (601) 643-8332.



BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | phone numbers | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment (read more)
San Diego Web Design by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo