Select a news topic from the list below, then select a news article to read.

msradiologicalsocietyscholarshipsMedical Radiologic Technology students Leslie Lyle of Madison (left) and Maggie Redd of Bogue Chitto (center) are the recipients of a scholarship from the Mississippi Radiological Society. The scholarships are awarded to outstanding radiography graduates who exemplify clinical and academic excellence as well as outstanding character. Lyle and Redd are pictured is Co-Lin’s Radiologic Technology Program Coordinator Billie Faye Sartin.

regionalconventionCo-Lin’s Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on the College's Wesson Campus was named a Five-Star Chapter, the highest distinction given to a chapter, at the annual Phi Theta Kappa MS/LA Regional Conference held on the campus of Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge.

The Eta Omega Chapter also received the Mississippi/Louisiana Most Distinguished Runner-Up Regional Newsletter (Sarah Claire Armstrong of Gallman), Mississippi/Louisiana Most Distinguished Runner-Up Regional Website (Quentin Munn of Wesson), Most Distinguished Runner-Up for Honors in Action Hallmark Award, and Most Distinguished Chapter Finalist. Sarah Claire Armstrong was named to the Order of the Golden Key, Brandon Nettles of Wesson received Mississippi/Louisiana Chapter Officer Runner-Up, and Chapter Co-Advisor Mary Warren received the Paragon Award for the region.

Eta Omega Chapter officers are Mason Boone of Hazlehurst, President; William Ryan Kimble of Brookhaven, Vice President for Fellowship; Sarah Claire Armstrong of Gallman, Vice President for Communications; Caroleah Brister of Bogue Chitto, Vice President for Scholarship; Alex Smith of Wesson, Vice President for Membership; Quentin Munn of Wesson, Vice President for Web Design; Regan Neely of Braxton, Vice President for Service; and Brandon Nettles of Wesson, Vice President of Leadership.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates, and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since it’s founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually. Erin Smith and Mary Warren serve as advisors for the group.


Representing Co-Lin’s Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at the regional convention were from left, Erin W. Smith, Brady Dunaway, Brandon Nettles, Caroleah Brister, Quentin Munn, Dr. Jane Hulon, Vice President of Instructional Services; Regan Neely, Sarah Claire Armstrong, Katelyn Roberts, Ryan Kimble, Mason Boone, Cullen Greer, and Mary Warren.


2015 2016ptkofficersThe Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Officer Team recently installed their 2015-2016 Officer Team at their annual banquet. New officers include from left, Brady Dunaway of Smithdale, Vice President of Research; Michael Chase Buckles of McCall Creek, Vice President of Web Design; Miesha Smith of Pinola, Vice President of Communications; Katelyn Roberts of Bogue Chitto, Vice President of Service; Kayla Tyler of Sontag, President; Rebecca Ellzey of Bude, Vice President of Scholarship; Samantha Ramirez-Garduna of Wesson, Vice President of Leadership; Matt Gill of Brookhaven, Vice President of Membership, and Jeremy Austin Buffington of Bogue Chitto, Vice President of Fellowship.

mltstudentbowlwinnersCo-Lin's Medical Laboratory Technology student bowl team captured first place in the Tri-State Mississippi, Louisiana, and Tennessee Student Bowl. Members of the team were front row from, left, Beth Scruggs of Smithdale, Lindsey Bobkoskie of Bogue Chitto; back row from let, Cindy Higgs, Co-Lin Medical Laboartory Technology Instructor; Trivette Leonard of Meadville, Brandy Jett of Brookhaven, Cacey Beeson of Bogue Chitto, and Mary Shivers, Co-Lin's Medical Laboratory Technology Program Coordinator.

ptkenhancedmembersOver 35 Co-Lin students on the College's Wesson Campus were recently recognized as enhanced members for the Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. Phi Theta Kappa is designed around four hallmarks: Scholarship, Leadership, Fellowship, and Service. To be invited into the organization, a student must be a scholar and earn at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average with a minimum of 12 hours. Once in Phi Theta Kappa, some choose to run for office where they have an opportunity to develop and expand leadership skills. Many members have experienced this as well as involvement through a variety of projects. Phi Theta Kappa projects are those focused on the four hallmarks that help families, friends, the community, and the cause. Members that embrace this mission usually make it a priority to become an enhanced member. To become an enhanced member you must receive 50 points per semester since inducted. For the traditional PTK student this would be 150 points. Points are earned through participation in the variety of activities. Honor cords are worn during the College’s graduation ceremony. Enhanced members are first row from left, Crystal Morgan of Wesson, Adrienne Wallace and Lauren Wallace, both of Bogue Chitto; Rashana Stewart of Brookhaven; second row from left, Amber Anne Bergeron of Sontag, Samuel Lambert of Monticello, Dennis Epps of Wesson, Savannah Johnston and Kamry Creel, both of McComb, Kelsa Powell of Jayess, Marissa Westrope of Wesson, Kaylee Turnage of Crystal Springs; third row from left, Jordan Lumpkins of New Orleans, Louisiana; Cullen Greer of Wesson, Kenneth Mason Boone of Hazlehurst, Sarah Claire Armstrong of Gallman, Kaitlyn Rhoads of Brookhaven, Regan Neely of Braxton, Dannah Berry of Brookhaven, Quentin Munn of Wesson, and William Ryan Kimble of Brookhaven. Not pictured are Chiedozie Anazia of McComb, Caroleah Brister and Matthew Greer, both of Bogue Chitto; Josh Britt, Brandon Nettles, and Alex Smith, all of Wesson; James Dennis of Crystal Springs, Caitlin Lofton and Dwain Perkins, both of Natchez; Jaykumar Patel of Hazlehurst, Taylor Smith of Copiah County, Zach Smith of Brookhaven, Hannah Stuckey of Vicksburg, Patrick Cade Turner of Silver Creek, and Nathaniel Walker of Mt. Olive.



BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | phone numbers | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment (read more)
San Diego Web Design by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo