Select a news topic from the list below, then select a news article to read.

lowerypaynLowery, Payn, & Leggett CPAs of Brookhaven captured the corporate championship in the 22nd annual Copiah-Lincoln Community College Foundation Golf Classic at Wolf Hollow Golf Club on June 18. The team of Craig Hennington, Ricky McInnis, Grant McDonnieal, and Sharon Payn shot a 52.

Taking the Low Net Championship was the team from First South Farm Credit. The team of Jason Coats, Harley Matthews, Brett Rutland, and Jeremy Winborne shot a 51.9.


Other on-course prize winners for closest to the pin were Jason Coats, Ricky Salyer, and Brett Rutland.

“We had a beautiful day for the tournament,” said David Campbell, Executive Director of the Co-Lin Foundation. “We want to thank everyone who participated and all the businesses that contributed to making it such a successful event.”

Twenty nine teams participated in this year’s event. The Co-Lin Foundation provides over $200,000 in scholarships to over 150 Co-Lin students and faculty.

culinaryartsAll three Co-Lin campuses will hold orientation/registration sessions for all freshman and new students attending in the fall. These one-day sessions are planned to help all entering students get an early start on the Fall 2015 semester

Orientation/registration dates on the Wesson Campus are scheduled for Friday, June 12, July 17, and Thursday, August 13. Each session will begin at 9 a.m. in the Dow-Young Instructional Technology Building.

On the Natchez Campus, orientation/registration sessions will be held on Tuesday, July 28 and August 11, at 1 p.m. in the Nelson Multi-Purpose Room located in the Redd/Watkins Career and Technical Center.

At the Simpson County Center, orientation/registration will be held on Friday, July 17 and Thursday, Aug. 13 at 8:30 a.m. in the Multi-Purpose Room of the Parker Academic Building.

The focus of pre-registration is to assist the student in becoming further acquainted with Co-Lin, obtaining academic and career-technical curriculum-planning advice, receiving a schedule for the fall semester, college identification card and parking permit.

All academic and technical students are required to take the ACT. Those attending orientation without ACT scores will have to take placement test ($30 cost) and show photo identification before pre-registering. It is to the student’s advantage to have ACT scores on file in Co-Lin’s admissions office before attending an orientation session.

Although the student is reserving a schedule for the fall, tuition and fees are not required to be paid at orientation, unless the student wishes to do so at that time.

Further information on orientation may be obtained by calling (601) 643-8490.

regionalconventionCo-Lin’s Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on the College's Wesson Campus was named a Five-Star Chapter, the highest distinction given to a chapter, at the annual Phi Theta Kappa MS/LA Regional Conference held on the campus of Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge.

The Eta Omega Chapter also received the Mississippi/Louisiana Most Distinguished Runner-Up Regional Newsletter (Sarah Claire Armstrong of Gallman), Mississippi/Louisiana Most Distinguished Runner-Up Regional Website (Quentin Munn of Wesson), Most Distinguished Runner-Up for Honors in Action Hallmark Award, and Most Distinguished Chapter Finalist. Sarah Claire Armstrong was named to the Order of the Golden Key, Brandon Nettles of Wesson received Mississippi/Louisiana Chapter Officer Runner-Up, and Chapter Co-Advisor Mary Warren received the Paragon Award for the region.

Eta Omega Chapter officers are Mason Boone of Hazlehurst, President; William Ryan Kimble of Brookhaven, Vice President for Fellowship; Sarah Claire Armstrong of Gallman, Vice President for Communications; Caroleah Brister of Bogue Chitto, Vice President for Scholarship; Alex Smith of Wesson, Vice President for Membership; Quentin Munn of Wesson, Vice President for Web Design; Regan Neely of Braxton, Vice President for Service; and Brandon Nettles of Wesson, Vice President of Leadership.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates, and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since it’s founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually. Erin Smith and Mary Warren serve as advisors for the group.


Representing Co-Lin’s Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at the regional convention were from left, Erin W. Smith, Brady Dunaway, Brandon Nettles, Caroleah Brister, Quentin Munn, Dr. Jane Hulon, Vice President of Instructional Services; Regan Neely, Sarah Claire Armstrong, Katelyn Roberts, Ryan Kimble, Mason Boone, Cullen Greer, and Mary Warren.


msradiologicalsocietyscholarshipsMedical Radiologic Technology students Leslie Lyle of Madison (left) and Maggie Redd of Bogue Chitto (center) are the recipients of a scholarship from the Mississippi Radiological Society. The scholarships are awarded to outstanding radiography graduates who exemplify clinical and academic excellence as well as outstanding character. Lyle and Redd are pictured is Co-Lin’s Radiologic Technology Program Coordinator Billie Faye Sartin.

mltstudentbowlwinnersCo-Lin's Medical Laboratory Technology student bowl team captured first place in the Tri-State Mississippi, Louisiana, and Tennessee Student Bowl. Members of the team were front row from, left, Beth Scruggs of Smithdale, Lindsey Bobkoskie of Bogue Chitto; back row from let, Cindy Higgs, Co-Lin Medical Laboartory Technology Instructor; Trivette Leonard of Meadville, Brandy Jett of Brookhaven, Cacey Beeson of Bogue Chitto, and Mary Shivers, Co-Lin's Medical Laboratory Technology Program Coordinator.


BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | phone numbers | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment (read more)
San Diego Web Design by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo