Select a news topic from the list below, then select a news article to read.

britt named faculty scholarEddie Britt has been selected as Copiah-Lincoln Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa 2014-2015 Faculty Scholar. Since 1996, Co-Lin’s Eta Omega Chapter has honored an instructor who shares their knowledge and themselves with students inspiring them to set high goals and to be the very best that they can be.

Britt is a graduate of Co-Lin and Mississippi State University. He began his career at Co-Lin in 2004 as a mathematics instructor. Prior to coming to Co-Lin he taught middle school in Farmerville, Louisiana, and at Loyd Star Attendance Center.

He is a member of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics and a member of the American Mathematical Association of Two Year Colleges where he is serving as a member of the Local Events Committee for the 2015 National Conference.  This past year, he received the Howell C. Garner High Performance Award, and he also serves as the Chairman of the committee for Co-Lin’s annual Jr. High Math Contest.  

Britt and his wife Gina are the parents of a daughter, Emory.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students by providing an opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, a fellowship for scholars and continued academic excellence.

Past recipients include Dr. Donnie Lawson, the late Dr. Phyllis Lanier, Dr. Durr Walker, Shelly Curtis, Dr. Roy Daughdrill, Carol Royals, Jane Smith, Danny Harrell, Debbie Bush, Janice Fortenberry, Tom Ross, Natalie Davis, David Higgs, Nicole Donald, Brenda Smith, Dr. Shelley Smith, Pam Reid, Dr. Stephanie Duguid, and Anita Cliburn.

M L Douglas ScholarshipSCHOLARSHIP RECEPIENT - Braxton Foster of Brookhaven has been awarded the Rev. M.L. Douglas Memorial Scholarship at Copiah-Lincoln Community College. Foster is the son of John and Stephanie Foster of Brookhaven.  He is pictured with scholarship donors Lavelle Douglas (seated right) and her son, Kenneth Wayne Douglas, both of Brookhaven. 

caroleah bristerCaroleah Brister of Bogue Chitto (second from left) was crowned Co-Lin's 2014 homecoming queen. Pictured are from left, 2013 homecoming queen Dana Sartin, Caroleah's father Terry Brister, and Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles.

ptk art winnersART WINNERS - The Eta Omega chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Copiah-Lincoln Community College recently hosted a district-wide art competition and exhibit for high school students in the Mutton Gallery on the college’s Wesson Campus.  Twenty-seven pieces of art were submitted by 9th – 12th graders in Co-Lin’s seven county district.  The art exhibit’s winner and finalists were announced during the exhibit’s finale.  The winner, Allison Livingston of Brookhaven Academy (center), was awarded a $500 scholarship to attend Copiah-Lincoln Community College.  Other winners include from left, Hannah Allen of Brookhaven Academy, fourth place; Anna Marie Stutzman of Copiah Academy, second place; Falon Ray of Copiah Academy, third place; Morgan Malley of Simpson County Academy, fifth place. 

boyne scholarship wesson 2014EIGHT RECEIVE BOYNE SCHOLARSHIP AT CO-LIN – Eight Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson campus nursing students have received a Boyne Foundation scholarship through the Co-Lin Foundation. The $1,500 scholarship is awarded to students in the health care field with an interest in serving the elderly. Recipients are seated from left, Amber Sbravati of Brookhaven, Clair Mitchell of Crystal Springs, Kacy Walker of Monticello, and Shannon Wallace of Wesson; standing from left, Matthew Lambert, Sandy Abshire, and Rachael Carney, all of Monticello; and Christopher Rutland of Mize. The Co-Lin Foundation receives and manages gifts to benefit Co-Lin, its students and faculty.


BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | phone numbers | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment (read more)
San Diego Web Design by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo