Select a news topic from the list below, then select a news article to read.

Honored as Co-Lin’s Outstanding Faculty Advisors are from left, Kathy Graves, psychology/sociology instructor Simpson County Center; Charlotte Stewart, mathematics instructor Wesson Campus; Deren Konecky, English instructor Natchez Campus; and Mary Shivers, program director of medical laboratory technology Wesson Campus. The group was honored during fall convocation.

Ken Yeager (far right) of Peterbilt Truck Center of Jackson presented Co-Lin Diesel Equipment Technology program coordinator Steven Esch (second from left) with an Eaton-Fuller 18-speed transmission to be used for hands-on instruction. Also on hand for the presentation were Assistant Dean of Career/Technical Education Brent Duguid (left) and executive director of the Co-Lin Foundation DJ Preiss. The college was also a recent recipient of a Department of Labor Round 4 TAACCCT Grant with the Southeastern Transportation Network, which allowed the purchase of the 2016 Peterbilt semi/tractor pictured in the background. 

The Military Order of the Purple Heart has designated Co-Lin as a “Purple Heart College” for outstanding service to military veterans, service members, dependents and survivors. Veterans who themselves have received the Purple Heart – awarded to those who have been wounded in combat – were instrumental in nominating Co-Lin for the distinguished recognition because of its ongoing dedication to helping student veterans.

Official presentation of the proclamation took place during the college’s convocation. Charles Tolliver, Commander of Chapter No. 680 of the Military Order of the Purple Heart contributed to the nomination process through Co-Lin’s Veteran Services Office. Retired Air Force member Dr. Tim Lea, who directs the Veteran Services Office, said anytime the university is recognized by a veterans’ organization, it is an honor. Being recognized by the Military Order of the Purple Heart is especially significant, he said.

“Being wounded or killed in combat is the resume’ of those who have received the Purple Heart,” said Lea. “To be recognized by this group as serving veterans in an exemplary way is an honor unlike other military-related recognitions bestowed upon Co-Lin, but it also sets us apart from other community/junior colleges. The Military Order of the Purple Heart informs us that we are the only community/junior college in the state to have this distinction and everyone at all campuses are most humbly honored.”

CUTLINE: Charles Tolliver, Commander of Chapter No. 680 of the Military Order of the Purple Heart (second from left) presents Purple Heart College designation to from left, Co-Lin President Dr. Ronnie Nettles, Tolliver, Natchez Campus Vice President Teresa Busby, Simpson County Center Vice President Dr. Dewayne Middleton, and Veterans Services Director Dr. Tim Lea. The designation was presented during the college’s fall faculty meetings.

The Willie Mae Dunn Library on the Co-Lin’s Natchez Campus is pleased to announce it will host the Natchez Tricentennial program, Legends and Lore, on three Mondays in September. The free, popular weekly series focusing on Natchez history and culture is held on Monday evenings from 5:30 p.m. until 6:30 p.m.

As part of the September programming, Co-Lin will also celebrate the opening of the Carolyn Vance Smith Natchez Literary Research Center. The first of its kind, the Center is a special depository of books, manuscripts, correspondence, and other materials associated with authors either from Natchez or inspired by Natchez. The mission of the center is to collect and preserve these materials making them available to all who are interested in Natchez’s rich literary history.

The theme for September’s Legend and Lore programming is Natchez as Place:  Three Centuries of Influence, Inspiration, and Impact on Six Outstanding Writers. The featured Natchez authors represent three centuries of Natchez literary history.

On September 12, Jim Barnett, retired Director of Historic Properties of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History will present on Le Page du Pratz. Also included on the program is Dunbar Healy, a New Orleans attorney, who will present on his ancestor William Dunbar.

The September 19 presentation will feature David Sansing, professor of history at the University of Mississippi, who will present on Joseph Holt Ingraham. Additionally, Kathleen Bond, Superintendent of the Natchez National Historical Park, will discuss William Johnson.

Modern Natchez authors will be featured in the September 26 program.  Dennis Harried, long time English Instructor at Alcorn State University and Copiah-Lincoln Community College, will focus his presentation on Natchez’s native son, Richard Wright. Susanne Kirk, former Vice President and Executive Editor in the Scribner Division of New York publisher Simon & Schuster, will also discuss Greg Iles’ novels set in Natchez.

For more information, call at 601.446.1101 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Juanita Proffitt has been selected as Co-Lin’s Phi Theta Kappa 2016-2017 Faculty Scholar. Since 1996, Co-Lin’s Eta Omega Chapter has honored an instructor who shares their knowledge and themselves with students inspiring them to set high goals and to be the very best that they can be.

Proffitt has been a member of the Co-Lin faculty since 2012 and is currently serving as a music instructor and the director of the Blue Wave Show Band. She is a graduate of the University of Alabama and Mississippi State University. The recipient of numerous awards, Proffitt is a member of a variety of professional organizations including the Mississippi Bandmasters Association, Mississippi Community College Association and Mississippi Women Band Directors Association.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students by providing an opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, a fellowship for scholars and continued academic excellence.

Past recipients include Dr. Donnie Lawson, the late Dr. Phyllis Lanier, Dr. Durr Walker, Shelly Curtis, Dr. Roy Daughdrill, Carol Royals, Jane Smith, Danny Harrell, Debbie Bush, Janice Fortenberry, Tom Ross, Natalie Davis, David Higgs, Nicole Donald, Brenda Smith, Dr. Shelley Smith, Pam Reid, Dr. Stephanie Duguid, Anita Cliburn, and Eddie Britt.

CUTLINE: Juanita Proffitt (right) receives the Eta Omega Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa’s 2015-2016 Faculty Scholar Award from Eta Omega Chapter President Luke Williamson of Lawrence County. The award is presented annually during Co-Lin’s fall faculty meetings.


BW-Logo Copiah-Lincoln Community College Wesson
Wesson | Natchez | Simpson
© 2012 Co-Lin, P.O. Box 649, Wesson, MS 39191 | DMCA information.
Copiah-Lincoln Community College is an equal opportunity institution in Education and Employment
Website Packages by Otter Creative Studio
twitter fb         pinit
MCCB-Logo militaryfriendlysmalllogo